Between dreams and reality exist whole dimensions.

An Interlude – Company of the Damned

So I left off on Company of the Damned a while ago, and am just barely getting back to it.If you haven’t read it, you can find it here: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3. The next scene isn’t ready yet, but this is a context piece I wrote while puzzling on the story, and in the grand fantasy tradition of making you read poetry by/about imaginary people, here it is:

54th Cavalry

With coats the shade o raven wings,

and hearts o powder black;

the sounds o sword and six gun sing,

the tones: scream, blast, hack.

The Company forever rides

and never do they tire;

behind, the orphans’ wails and cries

rise in a hellish choir.

A scourge, these killers do not hide;

their souls o smoke and fire.

– Wilhelmina Douglas, Poet Laureate of the Broken Union

5 responses

  1. Oh my goodness! a tremendous article dude. Thank you However I’m experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting equivalent rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

    March 13, 2012 at 03:29

  2. You always write good poetry. Particularly evocative, the orphans’ wails as a hellish choir. How do you think of this stuff?! For some reason on the 4th line I kept thinking it was needing an extra word for the rhythm, but I wasn’t reading aloud so I could be wrong. My mind kept wanting to say, “the tones: scream, blast, (and?), hack;. Excellent writing!

    March 8, 2012 at 08:47

    • The 4th line is actually 1 syllable short, but it never sounded right with the full 6. I think it’s because of the hard breaks I mean to come between each word. I might need to punctuate it differently to get that across.

      As always, thank you!

      March 8, 2012 at 21:38

  3. I greatly enjoyed the poem, and look forward to reading your other writing 🙂 Keep going at it!

    March 8, 2012 at 00:24

Please leave some trace of your presence.

