Between dreams and reality exist whole dimensions.

Almost Done – Steel Sunflower update

3 Leaves to go.

So I’m almost done with the sunflower. I thought I’d finish today, but the leaves didn’t feel like cooperating and were very hard to get welded on. The flower itself wasn’t too hard to get put together, and was in fact super easy to attach to the stem.  I didn’t get the petals lined up as neatly as I’d hoped, due the way I decided to weld in order to keep the front of the flower free of welds. But I actually kinda like it, it looks more real and less fabricated. I’ll get a picture from the back on Monday so you can see how it’s held together BTW. Also, the petals are a lot shinier than they look in this pic, the lighting in the storage room just sucks. It should be positively blinding when the sun hits it right. I bent the round bar  for the stem using this crazy lever/pivot contraption that I don’t know the name of, and it was surprisingly easy considering I was doing it essentially by hand. Did all the welding on this piece with the MIG Welder (also known as a wire-feed welder), rather than oxy-acetylene. It was way easier because MIG can weld at angles and in tighter spaces a lot more efficiently, and you don’t have to worry about filler rod, the wire feed handles that for you. Anyway, that’s all for this update; I’m swamped this weekend with reviewing submissions for SLCC’s Lit Mag: Folio (I’m on the staff). I should have more updates on the flower next week as well as the next Company of the Damned post.

2 responses

  1. What is the process like for reviewing submissions for Folio? It would be interesting to hear about that work, since that review prior to publication is the complement to the work you do as a writer.

    October 7, 2011 at 17:08

    • You know, I hadn’t considered that people might want to know about it. I’ll probably post about it later this weekend. Right now it’s a bit of a slog just because there’s so much to get through, once the basic winnowing is done (basically people who didn’t follow guidelines at all, or are really terrible, and a few that I just plain don’t like) it gets harder, but more fun.

      October 7, 2011 at 17:40

Please leave some trace of your presence.

